慢性病照護:第一保健與AIRnyc合作以降低住院率並提升哮喘控制

挑戰:紐約市的有色人種患有哮喘及其他慢性病的比例過高。黑人及西班牙裔的紐約人因為哮喘而使用急診護理的可能性高於其他紐約人兩倍以上。(資料來源)他們更因為居無定所、糧食不足、失業、健康不平等、無法獲得醫療護理服務等,而使得情況變得更加惡化。

我們的目標:透過社區合作降低患有哮喘的會員的住院率,同時加強哮喘控制。

第一保健解決方案:我們充分利用會員的費用申報資料找出將受惠於AIRnyc合作計劃的有色人種會員。透過此項合作計劃,社區健康工作人員與篩選出的人士見面討論和提出可改善健康的方法。範圍廣泛,從取得醫療用品到驅蟲管理服務和連結到社會照護等。本計劃包括六次以上的電話詢問、家庭探視並做一次需求評估、對外轉介,以及根據會員的風險資料提供持續互動服務。

人口健康改善:

  • 註冊會員之間的哮喘用藥依從率增加32%
  • 入住急診室的比例降低43​​​​​​​%
  • 醫療/​​​​​​​​​​​​​​手術門診率降低46%
  • 前往主治醫生門診的比例增加20%

結論:AIRnyc及第一保健的合作結果顯示,家庭探視及持續互動對於解決受到社區中及在家中的非臨床因素所影響的健康結果至關重要。本計劃的成功已將計劃擴大至更多可能有罹患哮喘或其他呼吸疾病風險的會員。

CHRONIC CARE: Healthfirst teams up with AIRnyc to reduce hospital admissions and increase asthma control

The Challenge: People of color in New York City disproportionately suffer from asthma and other chronic diseases. Black and Hispanic New Yorkers are more than twice as likely as other New Yorkers to use emergency care for asthma. (Source) Their conditions are exacerbated by housing instability, food insecurity, unemployment, health inequity, and a lack of access to healthcare services.

Our Goal: To reduce hospital admissions and increase asthma control among members with asthma through community partnerships.

The Healthfirst Solution: We leveraged our membership claims data to identify people of color who would benefit from partnership with AIRnyc. Through this partnership, Community Health Workers met selected individuals to discuss and support ways to improve health. This ranged from acquiring medical supplies to pest management services and making connections to social care. The program consisted of more than six outreach calls, home visits with a needs assessment, outbound referrals, and continued engagement based on member risk profile.

Population Health Improvements: 

  • 32% increase in asthma medication ratio adherence among enrolled members
  • 43% decrease in ER admissions
  • 46% decrease in medical/surgical visits
  • 20% increase in PCP visits

Takeaway: The partnership between AIRnyc and Healthfirst indicates that home visits and ongoing engagement are critical to address health outcomes impacted by nonclinical factors in the neighborhood and at home. The success of this program has led to expansion to more members at risk of developing asthma and other respiratory conditions.