長者的照護過渡:第一保健協助降低老年人的醫院再住院率

挑戰:老年人在出院後面臨著重大的再入院風險,特別是當他們被診斷出患有多種慢性病及/或處於糧食不足和社交孤立等這類無法獲得滿足的社會需求時。

我們的目標:加強對於55歲以上會員的支持、降低再住院率和改善會員的身心健康。

第一保健解決方案:透過JASA護理過渡計劃,我們的目標是位於布碌崙及皇后區的五個服務不足的郵遞區號地區的55歲以上的第一保健會員。當會員出院後,我們便立即與他們互動以提供協助,包括藥物管理、協調出院後的護理,以及提供30天的社會經濟及行為健康需求方面的協助。

人口健康改善:相較於研究計劃中的匹配對照組,參加JASA護理過渡計劃的會員較有可能與主治醫生進行兩次或以上的看診(62.3%相較於54.1%),且較少可能不接受主治醫生的護理(1.6%相較於9.8%)。

結論:JASA護理過渡計劃顯示出,在會員出院後立即與他們互動有助提升與主治醫生跟進的可能性。

本計劃是由Samuels Foundation撥款資助,我們這項計劃的結果讓我們可順利續約。

SENIOR TRANSITIONS OF CARE: Healthfirst helps to reduce hospital readmission for older adults

The Challenge: Older adults face significant readmission risk following hospital discharge, especially if they have been diagnosed with multiple chronic conditions and/or present unmet social needs, such as food insecurity and social isolation.

Our Goal: To better support members over age 55, reduce readmissions, and improve member health and wellness.

The Healthfirst Solution: ​​Through the JASA care transitions program, we targeted Healthfirst members over age 55 across five underserved ZIP codes in Brooklyn and Queens. Members were engaged as soon as possible after discharge and received help with managing medications, coordinating post-discharge care, as well as meeting socio-economic and behavioral health needs for 30 days.

Population Health Improvements: Members enrolled in JASA’s care transitions program were more likely to have two or more visits with their primary care physician (62.3% vs. 54.1%) and were much less likely to be non-accessing of PCP care (1.6% vs. 9.8%), compared to matched controls in the study.

Takeaway: The JASA care transitions program has shown that engaging with members after discharge helps improve the likelihood of primary care follow up.

This program was seeded by grant funding from the Samuels Foundation, and our results led to a contract renewal.