第一保健與西奈山醫院攜手合作改善高風險產婦的產後護理

挑戰:產婦未能在生產後接受到適當的後續照護將使母親的長期健康暴露於風險中。在​​​​​​​紐約州,黑人女性患有嚴重產後併發症的比例較白人女性高出2.4倍,較西班牙裔女性也高出1.7倍。(資料來源

我們的目標:改善低收入、高風險產婦的產後護理,以降低健康不平等。

第一保健解決方案:我們讓在生產住院中,至少有一種產後併發症的風險因素的新生兒媽媽加入一項研究。她們獲得書面衛教資源(英語及西班牙語版本)、與社會資源的連結、產後持續外展服務,以及產後照護看診的交通費償付(如果有需要)。

人口健康改善:

  • 他們的產後門診率高於對照組11%
  • 產後門診/婦科護理比例多了7%,一直到產後的 90天
  • 產後六個月投保醫療補助比例增加了6%

結論:ADVANCE健康公平性倡議如今已成為降低產後護理不平等的全州典範。我們的舉措證明出,在生產過程中的簡單的定點照護介入可對服務不足的人群帶來重要的影響。

HEALTHFIRST AND MOUNT SINAI HOSPITAL IMPROVE POSTPARTUM CARE FOR HIGH-RISK MOTHERS

The Challenge: Failure to access appropriate follow-up care after delivering a child can put a mother’s long-term health at risk. In New York State, the rate of severe postpartum complications for Black women was 2.4 times higher than for white women, and 1.7 times higher for Hispanic women. (Source)

Our Goal: To improve postpartum care for low-income, high-risk mothers and reduce health disparities.

The Healthfirst Solution: We enrolled new mothers with at least one risk factor for postpartum complications in a study during their labor and delivery hospital stay. They received written educational resources (in English and Spanish), connections to community resources, and ongoing outreach after delivery, as well as transportation reimbursement (if necessary) for postpartum care appointments.

Population Health Improvements:

  • 11% higher rate of postpartum visits, compared to control group
  • 7% higher rate of postpartum outpatient / gynecologic care, up to 90 days after delivery
  • 6% higher rate of enrollment in Medicaid six months after delivery

Takeaway: The ADVANCE Health Equity initiative now serves as a statewide model for reducing postpartum care disparities. We have demonstrated that simple, point-of-care interventions during labor and delivery can have a meaningful impact for underserved populations.