慢性病照護:第一保健與社區健康工作人員合作,以改善紐約亞裔人口的高血壓控制

挑戰:與一般族群相較,南亞裔美國人(來自印度、巴基斯坦、孟加拉及鄰近國家的移民)具有罹患高血壓的特有風險因子,而且在取得醫療護理服務時易面臨多種文化、語言、社會方面的障礙。

我們的目標:測試將社區健康工作人員引導的健康輔導與以電子健康記錄(EHR)為基礎的介入加以整合的可行性、採用與影響,以改善在紐約市基層醫療診所中對南亞病人的高血壓控制。

第一保健解決方案:在計劃的第一階段中,EHR介入包括每間診所建立例行高血壓患者登記,並且針對南亞族裔制定專門的醫療提醒及醫令設定。在啟動EHR提醒的一年後,凡是血壓超過140/90的南亞裔病人都會被邀請加入由社區健康工作人員引導的教育及輔導活動。社區健康工作人員會進行健康輔導、高血壓團體討論時間,同時還會每兩週對個人進行電話跟進,以解決病人特定的疑慮與需求。

人口健康改善:

  • 超過六個月期間,收縮壓下降4.6點,相較之下,對照組則上升2.4點
  • 超過六個月期間,舒張壓下降3.7點,相較之下,對照組則上升0.9點
  • 超過六個月期間,血壓控制獲得30%的改善,相較之下,對照組則沒有出現變化

結論:計劃IMPACT建立在社區健康工作人員與Million Hearts®舉措成功的基礎上,並且提出可將服務提供者基礎的EHR與社區基礎的社區健康工作人員的介入進行一種獨特的整合。此項計劃顯示出這些採用團隊基礎照護方法的介入是有效果的,因此有助發展相關的可持續性策略,以改善小型基層醫療診所中對目標種族/族裔人口的高血壓控制。

額外的研究資料來源:Protocol for project IMPACT (Improving Million Hearts for Provider and Community Transformation)(計劃IMPACT的實施準則(為服務提供者和社區轉型改善Million Hearts))

CHRONIC CARE: Healthfirst works with community health workers to improve hypertension control in New York’s Asian population

The Challenge: South Asian Americans (immigrants from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and surrounding countries) have unique risk factors for hypertension when compared to the general population and face numerous cultural, linguistic, and social barriers to accessing healthcare.

Our Goal: To test the feasibility, adoption, and impact of integrating Community Health Worker-led health coaching with electronic health record (EHR)-based interventions to improve hypertension control among South Asian patients in New York City primary care practices.

The Healthfirst Solution: During the first phase of the project, EHR interventions included generating routine hypertension patient registries within each practice and developing medical alerts and order sets tailored to the South Asian population. A year after the EHR alerts were active, South Asian patients with a blood pressure of over 140/90 were invited to enroll in Community Health Worker-led education and coaching. Community Health Workers conducted health coaching, group sessions on hypertension, and biweekly, individual follow-up calls addressing patient-specific concerns and needs.

Population Health Improvements: 

  • 4.6-point drop in systolic BP over six months, compared to 2.4-point rise in control group
  • 3.7-point drop in diastolic BP over six months, compared to 0.9-point rise in control group
  • 30% improvement in BP control over six months, compared to no change in control group

Takeaway: Project IMPACT builds upon the success of Community Health Worker and Million Hearts® initiatives and proposes a unique integration of provider-based EHR and community-based CHW interventions. The project informs the effectiveness of these interventions in team-based care approaches, thereby helping to develop relevant sustainability strategies for improving hypertension control among targeted racial/ethnic minority populations at small primary care practices.

Additional research source: Protocol for project IMPACT (Improving Million Hearts for Provider and Community Transformation)